The Peabody Awards

The Peabody Awards

Peabody special available now on FX

Margaret Blanchard - 6/24/2019
Peabody special available now on FX

FX and Peabody have partnered together to create a one-hour special event showcasing the critical issues honored at the 78th Annual Peabody Awards Ceremony. The special, Peabody Presents: Stories of the Year, features an in-depth roundtable discussion, moderated by Hasan Minhaj and recognizing the best of entertainment, documentaries and broadcast journalism. If you missed the FX airing on July 7, the special is still available to view here, or search for it in your FXNOW app.

More About the Television Special

Peabody Presents: Stories of the Year showcases award-winning programming that features diverse narratives tackling pressing social issues. The roundtable discussion intertwines thought-provoking conversations about race, the LGBTQ+ experience, the impact of the #MeToo movement, and journalistic integrity with footage from the 78th Annual Peabody Awards Ceremony. Hasan Minhaj moderates an intimate discussion among fellow storytellers representing five of the 30 programs deemed as Stories That Matter by the prestigious Peabody Awards.
In addition to two-time Peabody Award-winner Minhaj, who was honored for Netflix’s Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj as well as his previous recognition for Homecoming King, the candid conversation includes the powerful voices of participants who were selected for their groundbreaking and visionary work:
· Steven Canals, co-creator, executive producer and writer of FX’s Pose.
· Paula Lavigne, ESPN investigative reporter for Spartan Silence: Crisis at Michigan State.
· Terence Nance, filmmaker and creator of HBO’s Random Acts of Flyness.
· Tracy Heather Strain, director and writer of the PBS/WNET documentary Lorraine Hansberry: Sighted Eyes/Feeling Heart.

The program was produced by Den of Thieves, with Executive Producers Jesse Ignjatovic, Evan Prager, Chris Choun, Lynh Tran, Christine Drayer, and Dr. Jeffrey P. Jones and Co-Executive Producer Jeff Roe.