The Peabody Awards

The Peabody Awards

American Masters: Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise (PBS / WNET)

American Masters: Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise
 2017 | The People’s Poet Media Group, LLC, THIRTEEN’s AMERICAN MASTERS for WNET and ITVS in association with Artemis Rising

“Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise” offers a sumptuous tribute to one of the most important artists of the 20th century—a love letter of hope, courage, and passion to an artist tempered by struggles and conditions, whose love of life and freedom were shaped in the black South and whose freedom dreams were realized in relationships with some of the most important writers, actors, activists, and artists of her time. “Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise” offers a crucial window into performance culture, art and creativity, race, and the global creation and circulation of black cosmopolitanism. Told through the use of brilliant archival footage, “And Still I Rise” offers an intimate glimpse into Maya Angelou’s family life and formation, motherhood and travel, marriage and friendship, and her public life as a poet, novelist, essayist, and celebrity. With Maya Angelou as our guide, the film is a sharp reminder that freedom dreams take imagination, commitment, and courage, and are shaped in communities and friendships tempered by determination and sacrifice. In conjuring the magic and magnetism of “Maya Angelou, And Still I Rise” bears witness to a life well lived and shows us that like its inimitable subject, artand culture matter by enriching our worlds and connections with each other. For this portrait of her timeless example, work, wisdom, grace, and witness, “Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise” receives a Peabody Award.


Directors: Bob Hercules, Rita Coburn. Producers: Rita Coburn, Bob Hercules, Jay Alix, Una Jackman. Executive Producers: Reuben Cannon, Marquetta Glass, Steve Sarowitz, Michael Kantor, Regina Scully, Chris Gardner, Raymond Lambert, Susan Lacy, Sally Jo Fifer. Series Producer: Julie Sacks. Supervising Producer: Junko Tsunashima. Director of Photography: Keith Walker. Editors: David E. Simpson, Lillian E. Benson. Original Music: Stephen James Taylor.

Related Articles

Submissions Closed, Nominees Announced April 9

The early submissions deadline was December 15, 2018. The final deadline was January 9, 2019. Eligibility Requirements 1. The...

Full Article »

Support Stories That Matter

We did it! Thanks to our many supporters, we met our goal to raise $50,000 on Peabody Giving Day. With the addition of...

Full Article »