The Peabody Awards

The Peabody Awards

Jeopardy! (Syndicated)

 2011 | Sony Pictures Television

“A three-day competition pitting past champions against an artificial intelligence machine dubbed “Watson” underscored this long-running quiz show’s iconic status while reminding us how much expensive technology is required to surpass the storage and recall capacity of a compact human brain.” If we pretend the preceding is an answer, then the obvious, correct question is: “What is Jeopardy!?” The game show with the trademark answer-and-question format, dreamed up by Merv Griffin, premiered in 1964. The current syndicated version, hosted by Alex Trebek, has been around since 1984. Through all those years, the program has been a model of integrity and decorum, meanwhile testing the learning and memory of buzzer-pushing contestants and at-home wannabes on subjects ranging from children’s stories to chemistry to cheeses. For decades of consistently encouraging, celebrating and rewarding knowledge of this, that and the other, Jeopardy! receives a Peabody Award.


Executive Producer: Harry Friedman. Supervising Producers: Lisa Broffman, Rocky Schmidt. Coordinating Producer: Bob Sofia. Producers: Deb Dittmann, Brett Schneider. Contestant Producer: Maggie Speak. Producer, Promotions: Rebecca L. Erbstein. Director: Kevin McCarthy. Writers: Steve D. Tamerius, Debbie Griffin, Harry Friedman, Michele Loud, Jim Rhine, Mark Gaberman, John Duarte, Robert McClenaghan, Billy Wisse. Host: Alex Trebek

Related Articles

Submit Entry for Consideration

Click here to begin an entry. The early submissions deadline is December 15, 2018. The final deadline is January...

Full Article »

Support Stories That Matter

In an effort to sustain the excellence Peabody is known for and to extend its impact, we have created...

Full Article »