The Peabody Awards

The Peabody Awards

Institutional Award: Austin City Limits (PBS)

Institutional Award: Austin City Limits
 2011 | KLRU-TV, Austin, TX, PBS

What began in 1976 as a showcase for music of the Lone Star State—Tejano, Western swing, Texas blues, outlaw country, rock-‘n’-roll—has long since evolved into an internationally revered venue for pretty much the gamut of American popular music, including folk, jazz, jam, alt-rock and hip-hop. The 2011 season of Austin City Limits featured name artists as diverse as Widespread Panic, Gillian Welch, Coldplay and songwriting legend Randy Newman, who delighted the live studio audience at Austin’s spacious Moody Theater with a mix of his sardonic standards and his sunnier compositions for Disney movies. But in most regards, ACL is the same show it was in its early, Armadillo World Headquarters days: low on frills, dedicated to quality, an oasis in the television world for musicians who want to play seriously for people who listen in kind. A rare institutional Peabody Award goes to Austin City Limits for its more than three decades of presenting and preserving eclectic American musical genres.


Executive Producer: Terry Lickona. Producer: Jeff Peterson. Associate Producer: Leslie Nichols. Associate Producer/Digital & Interactive Director: Emily Joyce. Director: Gary Menotti. Technical Director: Ed Fuentes. Audio Director: David Hough. Audio Supervisor: Sharon Cullen. Editor/Video: Dan Martaus. Lighting Director: Walter Olden. Executive in Charge of Production: Tom Gimbel. Executive Producers Emeritus: Bill Arhos, Dick Peterson. CEO and General Manager: Bill Stotesbery (KLRU-TV)

Related Articles

Submissions Closed, Nominees Announced April 9

The early submissions deadline was December 15, 2018. The final deadline was January 9, 2019. Eligibility Requirements 1. The...

Full Article »

Support Stories That Matter

We did it! Thanks to our many supporters, we met our goal to raise $50,000 on Peabody Giving Day. With the addition of...

Full Article »